Moving to California

We have been in Seattle for 5.5 years. Before moving here, I was not sure about the move at all. We lived in Wisconsin for about 8 years, we owned a home there, both the boys were born there… way too many memories. It was really really hard to leave that place and move. We put the house for sale, and got ready to move all the way to the Pacific Northwest. While driving to the airport, I was bawling like a baby. I loved our home and I really couldn’t believe that we have to leave it and move.

Once we got here, we fell in the routine of things, and started looking for an apartment. Although we were reluctant to move to Redmond because the commute for S would be a bit too much, we decided to just check out the place. The first time we drove around Redmond, we knew we should live here. It just felt so familiar and nice. We signed a lease and we have been in Redmond all these years. Never regretted our decision.

Moving here also gave us opportunities we did not have in the small town of Wisconsin. I was able to get a job within 6 months of moving, S loved his job, we found a good day care for the kids and we settled down. I always hated the winters, but the summers do make up for it. Summers are beautiful here. The scenery is so good. Time just flew by and I have no idea how 5 years have gone by. We made amazing friends here, the schools are good, my career is blooming and life is just blissful at this point.

Now, we are having to leave all this leave to a new place and start over again. S got an very nice opportunity in CA. After debating for over a month, we decided to move and make it our new home. Saying that I am anxious about the move is putting it mildly. There are days when I am almost hyperventilating because the thought of moving is just too much for me. I have come to love this place and it makes me sad to move. There are days I fantasize about moving and having the opportunity to grow plants all through the year. The gardener in me is excited. It will definitely be nice to not worry about the rain or the gloomy weather. So, there are some perks that come with it.

The kids seem excited. Hopefully writing about it here will help me deal with all of this in a better way 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Moving to California

  1. Oh. Sad to see you go Sushma. One blog friend I have known in person. You will love the weather there. And am sure you all will make more lovely memories. Love to kids and good luck.

  2. I’m jealous. I live in the suburbs of Chicago. I’m trying to talk my husband into moving to CA. Preferably the San Diego area. I was born and raised here. Although I did move to Newport Beach, CA in 1997 for awhile. By myself. Gotta little homesick. Moved back. What part of CA did you move to? Where in Wisconsin are you from? I live in Schaumburg, IL. Heard of it?

    1. Welcome to my blog 🙂 We moved to Cupertino. We lived in Madison and I have been in Schaumburg a few times. We visited Chicago lots of times. I miss the midwest sometimes.

Leave a comment